European Short Film Festival | News


The Call for Submissions for ESFF 2014 is Closed

The deadline for ESFF 2014, which takes place on September 26 – 28, was April 25th: film makers will be notified of acceptance for screening by July 18th.

The Best of ESFF 2013

The Best of ESFF event continues to grow: nearly 150 attended this year! We’ll get an even bigger room in 2015. The program included twelve movies from 8 countries representing the very best Animation, Documentary, Narrative and Experimental films from Europe.


The Best of ESFF 2013

Mark you calendar! January 29th, 7:00-9:00pm in Room 6-120 on the MIT campus. As always, free and open to the public!

Watch a rarely seen selection of the best European short films from MIT’s 2013 European Short Film Festival. These films give you a glimpse into contemporary short film productions from European film schools, young and established independent filmmakers, and European festivals. 12 films – including the ESFF prize winners – that reflect the most compelling fiction, animation, documentary and experimental film from the 3-day festival in October.

And the Golden Beaver goes to……..

Announcing the prizes for ESFF 2013:


Golden Beaver: Sergio Oksman – A Story For The Modlins
Jury Prize: Emmanuelle Nicot – Rae
Audience Award: Pedro Collantes – Eskiper


Congratulations to the winners!



Thanks to all who attended and made ESFF 2013 a big success!




58 Films representing 19 Countries

This year’s program includes several exceptional documentaries, as well as countless original narrative films, amazing animation and hilarious comedies. The festival is coming up on Friday and will debut an exciting new audience participation feature: live voting after each program (and online) for your favorite film to generate the Audience Award.
All screenings are in Room 10-250 on the MIT campus and are free and open to all.




Official Selection ESFF 2013: Intrusion by Natalie Plaskura




2013 Festival Dates | April 19, 20 & 21

Mark your calendars: ESFF 2013 will take place on April 19, 20 & 21 on the MIT campus.



ESFF 2012 Festival News:


And the Golden Beaver went to…



2012 Festival awards:

Golden Beaver: Anca Miruna Lazarescu – Silent River
Jury Prize: Oliver Duerr – Beef
Audience Award: Anda Puscas – Stremt 89
Congratulations from the festival jury!




The 2012 festival poster was designed by Berlin-based freelance graphic designer Skarlett Röhner. More of her work can be found at:



Official Selection ESFF 2012: “Quiet You” by Joonas Makkonen, Finland



Official Selection ESFF 2012: “Mwansa The Great” by Rungano Nyoni, UK



Join us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter